Mystery Books Podcast

Informações:

Sinopsis

A podcast devoted to helping readers discover new mystery books.

Episodios

  • 14/06/2024 Duración: 37min

    Suggest a book for the podcast or say hello! Step into the world of luxurious London living and intriguing mystery

  • 31/05/2024 Duración: 37min

    Ring! Ring! Join me this episode for a look at the history of the red telephone box, a quintessential symbol of British culture. I’ll trace the evolution of this iconic kiosk and delve into the controversies surrounding the telephone box's appearance, the public's reaction to proposed changes, and the innovative ways these classic kiosks have been repurposed in modern times.

  • 17/05/2024 Duración: 55min

    Step back in time and explore the fascinating world of forensic investigation during the Golden Age of detective fiction. I’ll dive into the real-life CSI methods used by detectives in the 1920s and how they compare to the techniques employed by fictional sleuths like Sherlock Holmes.I’ll also take a closer look at a true crime case from 1923 that led to the creation of the iconic "murder bag”

  • 03/05/2024 Duración: 59min

    Servant Life: it wasn’t all elegance and extravagance in the 1920sJoin me for a deep dive into life "downstairs” in a country house. From the servant hierarchy to the grueling work to the lack of personal freedom, the staff had a completely different experience from those “upstairs.”We also take a little detour into the history of household appliances, including a socialite who invented the modern dishwasher!

  • 16/04/2024 Duración: 51min

    Creative genius and chaotic influence: how a society photographer inspired a characterThis episode delves into the character of  Sebastian Blakely, a vibrant and unconventional photographer who brings his own unique form of turmoil to the High Society Lady series. Inspired by real-life society photographer Cecil Beaton, Blakely's cheeky wit and penchant for stirring the pot keeps things interesting.Recent read: A Traitor in Whitehall (Affiliate link) Read-alikes: WWII mysteries MBP S1 E3 Poppy Redfern and the Midnight Murders by Tessa ArlenS2 E6 – Olive Bright, PigeoneerNext chapters in the next episode! If you want the rest of the mystery right now, you can get Murder in Archly Manor in ebook, audio, and print at SaraRosettBooks.com. Support the show

  • 03/04/2024 Duración: 56min
  • Murder at Archly Manor: Ch 5 and 6 + Mystery Books set in the world of Antiques

    19/03/2024 Duración: 42min

    Why set a book in the 1920s? Because a time of great change makes for an interesting setting. The phrase "may you live in interesting times," certainly applies to the tumultuous post-World War I period.Find out how motorcars, bobbed hair, short hemlines, and makeup compacts play into the changing social mores in this “Story Behind the Story” of Chapters 5 and 6 of Murder at Archly Manor, a 1920s historical mystery. Recent read: The Antique Hunter's Guide to Murder by C.L. Miller (Affiliate link) Read-alikes: the Kate Hamilton mystery series. A Dream of Death by Connie Berry (Affiliate link).Chapters 5 and 6 of Murder at Archly Manor narrated by Elizabeth Klett.Next chapter in the next episode! If you want the rest of the mystery right now, you can get Murder in Archly Manor in ebook, audio, and print at SaraRosettBooks.com. Support the show

  • Murder at Archly Manor: Ch 4 + Sherlock Holmes Reading Recommendations

    05/03/2024 Duración: 24min

    ⛲️ Love an English stately home? Then come with me on a tour of Chatsworth House and find out how the English country home inspired not one, but two book series in this “Story Behind the Story” of Chapter 4 of Murder at Archly Manor, a 1920s historical mystery. Plus reading recommendations for Sherlock Holmes fans!

  • Murder at Archly Manor: Ch 3

    20/02/2024 Duración: 18min

    Family tensions and inspiration from Agatha Christie are the “Story Behind the Story” of Chapter 3 of Murder at Archly Manor, a 1920s historical mystery. Recent read: A Report of Murder by F.L. Everett (Affiliate link)Mentioned: The Moving Finger by Agatha Christie (Affiliate link)Next chapter in the next episode! If you want the rest of the mystery right now, you can get Murder in Archly Manor in ebook, audio, and print at SaraRosettBooks.com. Support the show

  • Murder at Archly Manor Chapter by Ch: 1 and 2

    06/02/2024 Duración: 37min

    We’re traveling back to the 1920s in this season of Mystery Books Podcast with a chapter by chapter deep dive into Murder at Archly Manor, the first book in the High Society Lady Detective series. What inspired the location of Murder at Archly Manor? Was I intimidated to write historical fiction? (You bet I was!) How did I take the first step to write about the 1920s, despite my worries about accurately capturing the time between the wars? Find out in the “Story Behind the Story” section of this episode.Then Elizabeth Klett narrates the first two chapters of Murder at Archly Manor. Book recommendation: Your Turn, Mr. Moto by John P. Marquand. (Affiliate link)Next chapter in the next episode! If you want 1920s mystery right now, you can get Murder in Archly Manor in ebook, audio, and print at SaraRosettBooks.com.Support the show

  • 07/12/2023 Duración: 11min
  • 16/11/2023 Duración: 07min

    Tis the season for . . . holiday mysteries!  Get your holiday reading sorted with this list of mysteries that feature holly, mistletoe, and plenty of murder.Snowed-in country estates abound with tense family gatherings in these books. Cranky family members, too much food, and a patriarch threatening to change his will are the ingredients of a festive Christmas mystery. Mystery book to read at Christmas: Murder on a Midnight Clear by Sara Rosett (Published: 2020; Setting: 1923) Season 1 Bonus episode: Murder on a Midnight Clear: https://www.sararosett.com/mbps1bonus/Murder at Midnight by Katharine Schellman (Published 2023; Setting: 1816)A Christmas Party by Georgette Heyer (1941)Hercule Poirot's Christmas by Agatha Christie (1938)The Santa Klaus Murder by Mavis Hay (1936)An English Murder by Cyril Hare (1951) Support the show

  • 19/10/2023 Duración: 08min

    ⚓️ All aboard for a look at Death on the Isle, an amateur sleuth mystery from M. H. Eccleston with a nautical theme.

  • 05/10/2023 Duración: 11min
  • Intro to Season 4

    25/08/2023 Duración: 42s

    Mystery Books Podcast is back with Season 4. Join me for spoiler-free discussions of mystery fiction along with “read-alike” book recommendations to keep your TBR (to be read) pile stocked.

página 1 de 3